Skip to content

Jul 13, 2022 WoodWorks

WoodWorks is now accepting nominations for the 2023 U.S. Wood Design Awards, which celebrate excellence and innovation in mass timber, heavy timber, light-frame and hybrid buildings. As a non-profit dedicated to helping project teams design, engineer and construct successful wood buildings, we host this annual award program to bring attention to developers and design teams whose creativity and emphasis on quality continue to expand the possibilities for wood buildings. 

“Every day at WoodWorks we’re inspired by the designers and developers pushing the envelope of modern wood design with beautiful, functional buildings while setting new standards for sustainable construction,” said WoodWorks President and CEO Jennifer Cover. “It’s a privilege to showcase the efforts of the AEC community that we support so passionately. Advancements in building codes and technology, and enthusiasm for mass timber, have set the stage for an exciting award season.”  

Nominations will be judged by an independent jury of design and building professionals, who will select projects in nine categories and up to 10 projects to receive regional excellence awards. In addition to specific criteria for each category, judges will consider alignment with Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) principles. WoodWorks also takes inspiration from the American Institute of Architects’ Framework for Design Excellence, which includes a set of guiding principles to inform progress toward a zero-carbon, equitable, resilient and healthy built environment. 

The deadline for submissions is October 14, 2022.

This year’s categories include: 
  • Multi-Family Wood Design 
  • Commercial Wood Design – Low-Rise  
  • Commercial Wood Design – Mid-Rise  
  • Wood In Schools 
  • Institutional Wood Design 
  • Sustainable Wood Design 
  • Beauty of Wood 
  • Wood in Government Buildings  
  • Durable & Adaptable Wood Structures 
Deadline and Eligibility  

Award submissions must be received by midnight PT on October 14, 2022. There is no cost to nominate a project and multiple submissions are encouraged. To be eligible, projects and nominated firms must be located in the U.S. and projects must be fully constructed by October 2022. With the exception of the Durable & Adaptable Wood Structures category, Wood Design Awards apply to new construction only, which includes significant additions. Structures other than buildings are not eligible.

Browse the 2022 Award Gallery