Events

Upcoming Events

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

WEBINAR – Innovation in Wood Construction: A Comparison of Two Projects

April 16, 2014 – 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

 

,

Free

Join at 10 am Pacific, 11 am Mountain, 12 pm Central, 1 pm Eastern.

Recent investigations into and discussions about solid wood construction in British Columbia, Canada are resulting in many projects looking at heavy timber as a viable structural material. Furthermore, the benefits of wood are becoming increasingly relevant in the context of global warming and non-renewable resource depletion, and its use can have a large impact on a project’s carbon footprint through both carbon sequestration and avoided greenhouse gas emissions. This presentation will focus on the use of panelized wood in two innovative Perkins+Will projects, both located at the University of British Columbia: the Centre for Interactive Research on Sustainability (CIRS) and the Earth Sciences Building (ESB).

Speaker Bio

Jana Foit, AIBC, LEED AP, BD+C, Perkins+Will

Jana is a Senior Associate and Higher Education Practice Leader for the Vancouver office of Perkins+Will. For three years, she led the design and was involved in the construction of the Earth Sciences Building at the University of British Columbia (UBC). Involved in this project since the beginning of schematic design, she has been a primary supporter of the wood solutions in the project and has gained a great deal of knowledge in the successful application of wood products from design through construction.

Check back 48 hours prior to the event to download a copy of the presentation.

WoodWorks is an approved AIA provider. Eligible attendees will qualify for 1 credit (HSW).

Engineers and non-member architects will receive a certificate of completion for 1 PDH credit.

Certificates will be emailed to participants within two weeks of the webinar.

GROUP ATTENDEES

If you are attending the webinar as a group, each person in your group requiring a certificate of attendance must sign the Group Sign-in form.

  • Download and print ONE sign-in sheet for your group.
  • Return the completed sign-in form by email within 72 hours to .
  • WoodWorks will send each attendee a certificate of completion within 2 weeks.

PC-based attendees

Required: Windows® 7, Vista, XP or 2003 Server

Macintosh®-based attendees

Required: Mac OS® X 10.5 or newer

Mobile attendees

Required: iPhone®/iPad®/Android™ smartphone or tablet

Details

Date:
16 April 2014
Time:
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
Cost:
Free
Event Category:

WoodWorks offers a wide range of in-person and online training opportunities, from Wood Design Symposiums that include concurrent seminars and a trade show, to half-day workshops, lunchtime seminars and webinars.