Events

Upcoming Events

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

WEBINAR – Innovations with Wood – The Duke School in Durham, NC

August 9, 2012 – 11:00 am - 12:00 pm

 

,

Free

Join at 11 am Pacific, 12 pm Mountain, 1 pm Central, 2 pm Eastern

After an introduction to the use of wood framing in US school construction, architect Robert Sotolongo, AIA, LEED AP, will share his insights on the design process and decisions made for the Duke schools in North Carolina, including master planning, structural systems, and methods for achieving energy and acoustical performance. Features such as the exposed wood-frame roof system will be investigated, along with common considerations related to the use of wood in schools.

Speaker Bio

Robert Sotolongo is the Principal Architect and Vice President for DTW Architects in Durham, NC. In this role, he is responsible for all facets of design including construction administration, design team coordination, shop drawing review and approval, conducting and recording facility punch lists, coordination of as-built drawings and final project manuals until certificates of occupancy are delivered. He is a registered architect and holds a Master of Architecture from Clemson University and Bachelor of Science in Architecture from the University of Virginia. Robert is a member of various professional societies and has been a LEED 2.0 Accredited Professional since 2003.

Registration is free but space is limited to click on the link below to reserve your space.

Click here to register.

WoodWorks is an approved AIA provider. Eligible attendees will qualify for 1 credit (HSW).

Engineers and non-member architects will receive a certificate of completion for 1 PDH credit.

Certificates will be emailed to participants within two weeks of the webinar.

Details

Date:
9 August 2012
Time:
11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Cost:
Free
Event Category:

WoodWorks offers a wide range of in-person and online training opportunities, from Wood Design Symposiums that include concurrent seminars and a trade show, to half-day workshops, lunchtime seminars and webinars.